top of page

2023 McCleary Sustainability Award Nominations

Nominations are now being accepted for the 3rd annual Jay McCleary Sustainability Award.

The Red Wing Sustainability Commission established the Jay McCleary Sustainability Award in 2021 to help promote sustainability and environmental stewardship in the community.

The award is open to individuals, businesses, and organizations. Residents may nominate their own projects or be nominated by another party.

The link and printable form is available on the City’s website,, type in Jay McCleary Sustainability Award in the search tab.

Nominations can be made by using the printable form. Please return printable form to City Hall, 315 West Fourth Street.

Nominations for the 2023 award will be accepted until April 15, 2023. A selection committee of the Red Wing Sustainability Commission will choose the award recipient. The winner will be announced during Earth Week in April.

Jay McCleary, the award's namesake and the first recipient of the award, worked for the City of Red Wing for over 34 years and after retirement served as a long-term volunteer for the Red Wing Sustainability Commission.

Rich Huelskamp won honored with the award last year.

PICTURED: Mayor Mike Wilson presents the Jay McCleary Sustainability Award to Nancy McCleary, accepting the award on behalf of award recipient Jay McCleary at the January 10, 2022, City Council meeting.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page